Freedom … and William Wallace

 

Braveheart, statue at Edinburgh Castle, depict...
Braveheart, statue at Edinburgh Castle, depicting William Wallace (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Freedom is a profound force in relationships and choices.  I saw my wife for the first time in 1994.  I saw freedom.  I saw a ravishing beauty.  I saw wisdom.  I still see those treasures in this woman, everyday.

She saw freedom, as well … along with, miraculously, good looks, a quick wit,  and a “deer-in-the-headlights” look … (which apparently did not throw me out of the running).

When the word (concept, force) freedom comes up, William Wallace comes up simultaneously.  My adolescent son watched the movie “Braveheart” (a movie about William Wallace), without our permission I want to point out.  The boy quotes (frequently) a line from the movie:

“All men die; but few men live.”

Picture of William Wallace
Picture of William Wallace (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Freedom.  Inherent with the adventures of marriage, I have doubted my freedom on occassion.   Others have told me that they have had similar experiences.

That last sentence … that last piece … is core to freedom.  Freedom is not free; freedom is not easy; freedom requires more than what I can understand, at times.

Staying in the battle.  Staying in relationship.

Freedom is of profound importance.  Yet, the “rules” of marriage and family can be sooooo different from one individual to the next (no brainer).  For me, I place great value on my wife’s freedom to speak into my life, even if I do not like what I hear.  With this same, good, woman … I need her to have the same freedom to tell me what she needs.

I’ve learned, after many difficult times, that my wife needs me to have the freedom to be honest with her; she needs me to have the freedom to be a real man.

This is part of this vision … of “redemptive wildness”.  We are fighting for something we believe in.

T

Mel Gibson as William Wallace wearing woad.
Mel Gibson as William Wallace wearing woad. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
One thought on “Freedom … and William Wallace

Leave a Reply

