Dog (The) and Man … 1st Dispatch

DOG has earned global admiration, for how she swings her nose upwards, catapulting one’s elbow or hand, into the air: not just once, but a number of times in the span of 10 to 20 seconds.

*Stash outside

Motive? Oh, yeah.  She has a motive: to express her affection and to communicate  the urgent need for a scratch behind the ear or a back rub.

“If dogs could talk.” You’ve heard that, before?  

 In my experience, dogs talk but not in English, and they use a great deal of nonverbal behavior.  

Our older dog is recognized as a sage.  This dog has been with us for 10-12 years.  When her food bowl is empty she will approach me quietly, slowly, and stare.  I usually know what she wants. What bothers me is the feeling I get, that her nonverbal message is: “Do you have any idea what is going on around here?! You need to get your butt over there and get me some food, NOW. Are we clear?” I obviously do not have a picture of this older / sage dog.  My apologies.

My dogs will never read my blogs, because I don’t want them to get the idea that they can jump on the computer, when I am not around.  And, they would probably be critical of my writing, and I certainly do not need that. 

I pay tribute to my dogs.  In a world, in a time, when there is way too much talk, I consider the silence of our dogs medicinal.  There is something (I cannot explain this) that is beautiful, transcendent, when our dogs stretch out on the floor, and sleep, always near.

Dogs have been around for a long time. If only humans could learn from dogs the importance of listening.

 

Leave a Reply

