Men Who Write

Downtown Denver.  I was in my early twenties.  A great deal of building was going on at that time, early morning music of compressors, hydraulic drills, construction workers whistling from way above the concrete at women  on their way to work …

English: my own shot; release under gfdl
The Brown Palace Hotel. The oldest luxury hotel in Denver; opened Aug. 12, 1892.

I started writing around 7am, sounds  breezing in with cool morning air through a 2-3 inch opening of my 2nd floor apartment window; 18th & Grant.  I waited tables at the Brown Palace, the Club dining room, at 17th & Tremont: a block from where I lived.

Evening sounds from my window: a lone singer highly inebriated wandering the streets; sirens chasing fires and crime and drama; ballroom music coming from the Cosmopolitan Hotel at 18th & Broadway.  There are excellent pictures of the Cosmopolitan Hotel Denver at this link … worth your while. http://www.whatwasthere.com/browse.aspx#!/ll/39.7448768615723,-104.987342834473/id/11133/info/details/zoom/14/

I could look out my window to the southwest and see diagonally across the street through a few open windows men (in tuxedos) and women (formal dresses) dancing along with the ballroom music that I could hear … a fascinating irony.  My isolation contrasted with couples dressed to the nines, dancing in a ballroom.  The Cosmopolitan was built in 1926, and taken down (you should check out the 19-second footage on Youtube, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfZMqCnJ1fg) … in 2007.  What’s there now? A parking lot.  AAAAAAGGGGGHHHHH ! ! ! ! !   I think I’ll do a small post  on the Cosmopolitan Hotel … It was quite a place.  But now … it’s a parking lot.  Sickening.

Since that time, I have been enthralled with books, and authors.  This post is about men who write.

Ernest Hemingway’s writing inspired me.  Over the years, I’ve been more sensitive to the depressive themes of Hemingway’s writings, and read less of his volumes.

Ernest Hemingway Writing at Campsite in Kenya …

From The Old Man and the Sea, ” … ‘I wish I had a stone for the knife’ the old man said after he had checked the lashing on the oar butt.

Ernest Hemingway in Milan, 1918

‘I should have brought a stone.’ You should have brought many things, he thought, but you did not bring them, old man. Now is not the time to think of what you do not have.  Think of what you can do with what there is.”

C S LEWIS IN THE EAGLE & CHILD - OXFORD
C S LEWIS IN THE EAGLE & CHILD – OXFORD (Photo credit: summonedbyfells)

C.S.Lewis rocked my world with his blend of imagery, allegory, metaphor, and prolific imagination.  From That Hideous Strength:

Cover of "That Hideous Strength"
Cover of That Hideous Strength

“…’What we have here,’ said Frost pointing to the sleeper, ‘is not, you see, something from the Fifth Century … It is the last vestige, surviving into the Fifth Century, of something much more remote.  Something that comes down from long before the Great Disaster, even from before primitive Druidism; something that takes us back to Numinor, to pre-glacial periods.’ … ‘The whole experiment is perhaps more hazardous than we realised.’ …”

The writers who have gone before us … wow.  We have been given so much to help us know … how to write and how to live.  They have left good stories behind, just as we will also leave good stories behind.  Well, I have over-stayed my welcome … It is time to get back to Rolling Creek.  Peace, T

2 thoughts on “Men Who Write

  1. I have a confession to make…I have always thought Hemingway overrated…no doubt hit squads will be on my tail soon. Still, that’s always the way I have felt. On the other hand, if he did write anything for the ages it is The Old Man and the. Sea…one of the greatest novellas of all time. Why couldn’t he do more like that?

    Nice posting!

    1. You are gracious, about my post. I actually reviewed it later today, because it needed some work. I do agree that Hemingway is somewhat overrated … I cannot read much of his work in one sitting, as his depressive content really wears on me. Hemingway does dialogue well, and sometimes I can appreciate it, and sometimes not. Thanks again for reading one of my posts, John.

Leave a Reply

