O Brothers, Where Art Thou?

See full size image
O Brother, Where Art Thou? http://www.FanPop.com

Two brothers, biological, and countless brothers through community; but for me to stay in touch with these guys … that’s the challenge.  We have the technology to text; we have the enlightenment of EMAIL; we actually have cell phones.  But what I do not have … is an excuse.  We … just … don’t … stay … in touch.  As for F2F (Face To Face) … what a concept … It just doesn’t happen.

O Brother, Where Art Thou? (soundtrack)
O Brother, Where Art Thou? (soundtrack) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the movie “O Brothers! Where Art Thou?”, I watched these three guys in and out of craziness … I was spellbound.  I have to hand it to them: the boys stuck together.  They could sing, yes?  Of course, I realize that they were not actually doing the singing, but … they put on a good performance.

A good brother is a good thing: one to laugh with, one you might even cry with, one to travel with, one to walk with you through some dark nights of the soul. Brothers: ideally, a reciprocal relationship.

As time goes on, a man either … succeeds in growing his brotherhood, both in numbers and in quality … or the isolation moves in gradually.  And the latter scenario is not really that bad; but I think the former is far better.  A man has to deal with the real issues: isolation is easier; community is messy; there is a desire in a man to be known by others; there is a fear of being known, by others.  It’s not easy either way.  But I think one challenge is always in front of a man.

What am I going to do about the relationships with my brothers?  What responsibility do I have, and what responsibility am I willing to pick up?  Something I am definitely thinking about.

 

One thought on “O Brothers, Where Art Thou?

Leave a Reply

