Two Friends

Two friends … I want to pay tribute to two friends.  Through cold, through thick, through mud, through projects like building the treehouse … I figured a picture would be good.

IMG_0683

My two friends. Right boot; left boot.

Been thinking about folks in Oklahoma as of lately.  Last night my son and I walked back into our home at around 9pm, after an order to evacuate came during the afternoon.  There was the Bluebell fire that burned about 4 acres, which was a lot considering that there are homes all around where the fire was.  So, yeah, I now have an understanding, to some degree, of what its like to be told to evacuate, not knowing for sure if I would see our house again. Get the dogs, and pictures, and papers, and some clothes.

I did some thinking

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris
The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  I thought of the survivors in Oklahoma. Some of those folks have been through some hell.  I also thought about thankfulness.    Yeah, I am.  I am thankful.  And does this have to do with my two friends I mentioned? Just that you find yourself thinking of friends who go through strange, disruptive things: friends who help each other out.  Friends who walk with each other … like a good pair of boots, usually one left and one right.  Winston Churchill once said “If you are going through hell, keep going.”

One thought on “Two Friends

  1. So, so, SO GLAD that you did not lose your home. I cannot imagine the shear hell you and your family went through. I hope that the worst is over for you and your neighbors.

Leave a Reply

