Father’s Day Blessing, Sacred Gift

The opportunity came for a roadtrip … So me & the family came to see my dad.  The young man (Dad) is 90 this year.

Sat with him on several occassions for some great discussions.  He told me bits and pieces of numerous stories from his years of living a life of courage, honor, peace, thankfulness, love.  Joy: quiet joy; unmistakable joy; joy that is transcendent.  I was reminded of my own prodigal being.  I was reminded of his humility, his wisdom, the pleasantness of being with him.  I was reminded of his redemptive realness: a man who doesn’t play mind games; a man of few words, other than those worth hearing.

Heading back this morning encouraged, and hopeful.  Wow.  What a great gift.

Leave a Reply

