Hopers, Long “O”

A “HOPER” is one who fights with hope.  Hope is part of who a hoper is.  Hope can be followed by disappointment.  COURAGE happens when one hopes.  From a book entitled Keeping Hope Alive, by Lewis Smedes, I read something that I  decided was worth quoting in a blog:

 “People who have the habit of hope … respond more effectively to crises … stricken, but not crushed by tragedy. When everything good about life shakes at the foundations and they cannot be sure of what will happen next, they turn their eyes to the possibility that something good can still come of it.”

I am a metaphorical thinker / writer.  The sword, in the hand of an honorable warrior, gives me hope, and reminds of strength that we need, and strength that we have, but … sometimes … strength that we forget about.  I found this picture on a blog of another WordPress-guy, Tobiasmastgrave@Wordpress.com.  I really like it. 

Tobiasmastgrave@Wordpress.com

Another place I’ve visited on the web is a site called http://getbusylivingblog.com, referring to John Grisham: ” … a lawyer …  first book A Time to Kill took three years to write … rejected 28 times until he got one yes for a 5,000 copy print. He’s sold over 250 million total copies of his books.”  I always appreciate the stories, the wisdom, the examples from hopers.  Tell your story, because I want to hear it.  I want to hear about your hope.  I think a good way to sign off is with a quote from Thomas Edison:

“If I find 10,000 ways something won’t work, I haven’t failed. I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward.”

 

Leave a Reply

