Men, An August Audibility About Autism Awareness

Audibility?  WOW!  Such vocabulary . . .  I want to be audible about the giftedness with

Map of Colorado
Map of Colorado (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

fatherhood of an autistic child.  And I am all over the map, incidentally.  Driving my old Subaru, traveling with my family, putting miles on the car, it is a small map.  Negotiating the routes, the directions, the turns and the straightaways of autism is a different map: definitely not a small map.  

What an amazing opportunity to be a father it is; and I sometimes forget that.  My son is brilliant, a good looking kid (I could be jealous, but I’m not), and quite stout.  And me?  I am a man who is scared to death of failure, terrified (at times) of being a dad.  I don’t want to let my son down.  I don’t have what it takes to walk in these shoes (people tell me that this a non-truth).

“Having a child with Autism can mess with your head: You feel like you can move mountains for them yet you're powerless at the same time.”
by Stuart Duncan

To walk this walk means being intentional about support (giving and receiving); moving toward my son and not away; living with authenticity, not being a poser.  My desire for  authenticity, redemptive intimacy, the support I need, and to walk the walk means I need to be plugged in . . . with a good community of people. 

I am giving a “thumbs up” to the Autism Society of Colorado.  http://www.autismcolorado.org/  This is a great resource (for those living in Colorado) that may or may not pertain to any of the good folks following this blog.  But, there might be a dad out there who is walking a similar path that I am. Maybe you are at the beginning of the journey: trying to de-escalate your son when he is screaming, posturing, destroying your walls and furniture, and your phone.  Maybe you are at that place where you spend a fair amount of time sitting in the emergency room, waiting to find out . . . what?  Oh, how I remember those days, not too long ago.

Here is one small example of what The Autism Society of Colorado is about.  They are offering some parent training / family support courses, specifically on Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA).  I won’t go into that, now.  I’ll just say that if you have a kiddo with autism / aspergers, then you will benefit by learning more about Applied Behavioral Analysis.  If you want more information, go to their website.

Regardless of what kind of winner you have for a son or a daughter, thank you, men . . .  those of you who are fighting the good fight of fatherhood.  And those brave souls who battle for their children, and love for their children . . .   Thank you, too.  Until next time.

 

One Reply to “Men, An August Audibility About Autism Awareness”

Leave a Reply

