I Am a Rock . . . NOT !

It was before your time, probably … Paul Simon & Art Garfunkle … And if you do remember these two, maybe  you didn’t like them … You either liked these guys, or you didn’t.  Anyway, they wrote this song, “I Am a Rock”:

A winter’s day
In a deep and dark December;
I am alone,
Gazing from my window to the streets below
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I’ve built walls,
A fortress deep and mighty,
That none may penetrate.
I have no need of friendship; friendship causes pain.
It’s laughter and it’s loving I disdain.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

Don’t talk of love,
But I’ve heard the words before;
It’s sleeping in my memory.
I won’t disturb the slumber of feelings that have died.
If I never loved I never would have cried.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I have my books And my poetry to protect me;

I am shielded in my armor,
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
I touch no one and no one touches me.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain;
And an island never cries.

In one sense I can be a rock, because of my thick skull, and how I can act like an idiot … I don’t always understand the cues of redemptive intimacy … But I know that I would be lost without those who love me … starting with my family … and then a few good friends. 

And I’m thankful that …

I have my books And my poetry to protect me.

For anyone who saw the movie “Shadowlands”, there is a great line in there that a student told C.S. Lewis: “We read to know … that we are not alone.”

3 thoughts on “I Am a Rock . . . NOT !

  1. Coincidence? I attended a 3.5 day conference in LA last week at which I acknowledged to my Mastermind Group that I was a lone wolf; recognizing at the same time that from personal and business development perspectives, that alignment doesn’t always serve one well.

    I was always a S&G fan and many of their lyrics still resonate. A rock and an island I can be though I’m not always enamored with being such.

    Your words are a timely rekindling… 🙂

  2. Being alone is a love/hate relationship. Sometimes we crave it so terribly, and other times we despise the loneliness that can come with it. I looooove this song, this duo, and your last statement referenced to C.S. Lewis. Brilliant words I wish I could write!!

Leave a Reply

