Snow is On the Go; So Are You

She is waiting, faithfully.A few bloggers have posted about snow happening, in their neck of the woods.  This morning, our’s came: the snow is definitely on the go.  I’m waiting until either the snow stops or until it is deep enough before I get my snowblower out: not something on my “favorite things to do” list.     “To Do” … what a provocative pair of words; profound, in fact, for writers.

I don't snow blow the trees.
I don’t snow blow the trees.

At times, our writing connects with what we “do”.  At other times, our writing comes from our stillness, being quiet, and listening.  I remember seeing a writer’s quote, many years ago.  150, maybe?  Exaggeration, maybe?  Unfortunately I cannot remember the name that corresponds with the quote.  Here’s the quote: “My wife asked me what I was doing while staring out the window.  I told her.  ‘I’m working’ …”  And, one of my most favorite quotes of all time:

www.quotehd.com

What Thoreau’s quote means to me is that our experiences, our stories, out journeys, and in some cases just “doing something”, fuels and shapes our writing.  Okay, now I’ll throw out on the blog-table the last piece of this post: writers, depression, anxiety.  Winter, snow, cold, connects the season with the mood.  Here are some excerpts from an article entitled: “Let’s talk about writing and the creative process”

 
(http://writerunboxed.com/2013/04/26/lets-talk-about-anxiety-the-creative-process/

“I work with writers, and find that anxiety is a very real and very constant part of their lives. Why? Just a few reasons:

  • … creating and publishing invites judgement, especially self-judgement.
  • Being a writer is often a new identity that one carves out for themselves … everyone else around them clings to other ways of labeling them: mother, spouse, colleague, sister. (Writers) don’t easily accept defining the writer as such.
  • … ‘return on investment’ of writing breaks traditional models. We do it for so many reasons, but the common reward of money is rarely the primary driver.
  • … so many decisions involved in being a writer. First, with the process of writing and editing, then the process of choosing how to publish, and then the process of finding and connecting with readers. Each is not one step, but 1,000 decisions. None of which are clear from the start. “

Yes, we stumble into the midst of any of these experiences: “Seasonal Affect Disorder (S.A.D.)” (you already know about), writer’s block (I flinch when Lucy calls Charlie Brown a “blockhead” … I’m a blockhead since I get writer’s block), boredom, anxiety / depression (beyond S.A.D.), situational stressors, family pressures … and SNOW.  But trust me, pending on the temperature / windchill / visibility, you can get out there in the snow with your winter gear or snowshoes.  And chances are it will be good for you.  And keep writing.  Because YOU … are on the go!

6 thoughts on “Snow is On the Go; So Are You

  1. Glad to learn you are choosing to be on the go. With current winter conditions and forecasts nationwide, this snow. ice, and cold would bring me to a screaching halt. Love the Throreau quote. So true! Stay warm, Tim.

    1. Eric, thank you for checking in. It is a privilege for me to have you visiting in. “On the go” to means more of an attempt to maintain a good attitude, and to refuse being stuck. Yes, the snow. We only got about 8″ tonight … but we are probably not getting out tomorrow. Peace, T

    2. My delayed response, Eric. Apologies. I hope you are able to get to where you need to be so that the excellent work you are doing for folks will not be interrupted. Thanks for visiting … And, yes we are staying warm. We keep the wood-burning stove going … Hope you are keeping yourself warm.

  2. Great quote about staring out the window and working… I’m going to use that the next time MY wife wonders what I’m doing. Enjoyed this post and am glad to know you don’t snow blow the trees… because that would be a lot of work taking you away from the real work you should be doing… staring out the window.

    1. HA! Your appreciation of my post means a great deal coming from you, a “real” outdoorsman. I liked your good point you made, that I shouldn’t let things interrupt the real work I should be doing … staring out the window. Have a good transition into 2014. Peace, T

Leave a Reply

