Wilder Men: We Are Not Alone

Wilder Men, this just in, from the late-breaking news from the home office:

We … are … not … alone.

http://izquotes.com/quote/219634

Clarification.  This is not about the whole “ET, Call Home” thing. Arthur Clarke speaks of the controversy, ” … life out there in the universe …”  Ironic, his words apply to the human soul’s dilemma about relationships.

Things are not always as they appear, not always black and white, not always as clear as we would like them to be: my perspective, contrasted with Clarke’s “reality” of “either / or”; nothing in between. Men, women, children … can be, and are, alone at times; and, we are not alone.

These words below resonate with the “here-and-now”, life on the planet, life in the hearts and minds of men, life through our writings, through our readings, through our thinking / beliefs / ambivalence, through out passions. 

http://www.quoteswave.com/picture-quotes/408817

Ambivalence, still here.  Books are awesome.  But wait!  Some books, limited value, sometimes harmful.  “We read to know that we are not alone.”  Some of us read to isolate.   Simon and Garfunkle sing these words from “I Am A Rock”:

“I have my books
And my poetry to protect me;
I am shielded in my armor,
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
I touch no one and no one touches me.
I am a rock,
I am an island.”

The ramblings of a wilder man emerge with hopes of redemptive thought, redemptive ambivalence, redemptive humor.  Here is a piece, tapping at my beliefs, and I grapple with the implications.

“Friendships are overrated.  Friends are underrated.”

Over the years, I have had countless “friendships”, but few … real, long term … friends.  My old friend, Sadness, visits from time to time when I consider how many “friends” have come and gone, not too different than the wind.  Some of those friends never faded away.  It was me, because of my own pursuit of isolation as opposed to pursuit of relationship.  Wilder men have a desire to be known; wilder men have a fear of being known.  None of this changes the fact that we … are … not … alone.  

7 Replies to “Wilder Men: We Are Not Alone”

    1. Yes, and correct me if I am wrong, you are one who has come to know that gift of being alone, and yet not being lonely. Not everyone can say that. The priceless of gift of being alone resonates with me, as well, Eric. Peace, my friend. T

  1. potent words here – and remembering the ever-present existence of our heavenly father can bring much comfort and we need to be reminded of it – and I like how Eric noted the solitude angle – and the joy of being alone at times too – and then – I like how you note some folks use books to isolate
    “But wait! Some books, limited value, sometimes harmful.”
    and well T – there are lots of little branches in this dense post – I feel like it is an ideal discussion starter.
    Peace

    1. WOW! Your encouragement motivates me to stay engaged with writing. I find a little paradox, (maybe not the right word) with our own isolation, and God doesn’t leave us. We may feel the isolation, while we do not always feel the presence of the Father. Thanks, my friend.

      1. well you better keep writing – I am enjoying getting to see your style – it seems to be unfolding in a different way than when I first started following you – you know – and is is also just how we get to know people thru their writing – it takes time…

        have a great weekend T

      2. These are very kind, and empowering words. I don’t take them lightly. At times, I benefit greatly from a seasoned writer coming alongside, speaking the words “keep writing”. Thank you. T

      3. and I think you know me enough by now that I am very honest and never BS anyone – 🙂 so I do mean it when I say it – TTYS

Leave a Reply

